Joseph Harrington

Joseph Harrington is the author of Things Come On (an amneoir) (Wesleyan Univ. Press 2011), a mixed-genre work relating the twinned narratives of the Watergate scandal and his mother’s cancer; it was a Rumpus magazine Poetry Book Club selection. He is the author of the chapbooks Earth Day Suite (Beard of Bees 2010) and Of Some Sky (Bedouin, forthcoming 2014), was well as the critical work Poetry and the Public (Wesleyan 2002). His creative work has appeared in Hotel Amerika, The Rumpus, Atticus Review, BathHouse, 1913: a journal of forms, With+Stand, Otoliths, Fact-Simile, and P-Queue, among others. He is Professor of English at the University of Kansas in Lawrence.


What Do Atypicals Dream?: A Review of NOS (disorder, not otherwise specified)

  Joseph Harrington is the author of Of Some Sky (BlazeVOX Books 2018); Goodnight Whoever’s Listening (Essay Press 2015);  Things Come On (an amneoir) (Wesleyan UP 2011); and the critical work Poetry and the Public (Wesleyan UP 2002). Harrington blogs about creative writing and climate change at Writing Out of Time. He teaches at the University of Kansas (Lawrence).


Ringing the Changes Right: A Review of Geoffrey Gatza’s A Dog Lost in the Brick City of Outlawed Trees

Procedural poetry + music: this combination might put you in mind of John Cage. And Geoffrey Gatza’s fascinating new book is definitely in the tradition of Cage, Jackson MacLow, or Jean Lescure. But there’s a twist: these procedural poems are based on a form of traditional church-bell ringing – namely, […]